The ICO-IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics

Deadline extended till 15th June. See the details below.

This prize is awarded annually since 2008 by IUPAP through ICO to a scientist who has made noteworthy contributions to applied optics and photonics during a maximum of 8 years of research experience after having earned a PhD degree. Career interruptions will not be counted as time of research experience.

The prize includes:
  • A citation
  • A cash amount of US$1.000, as stabilised by IUPAP
  • The IUPAP Young Scientist Medal with the name and discipline (optics) of the awardee engraved on the back.
  • An invitation to give a talk in a major ICO or IUPAP sponsored event
BEFORE 15th June (extended):

An email with all the documents must be send by the nominator to the chair person of the ICO-IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics: Dr. Gilles Paulliat ( )

  • Signed letters including each nominator’s current affiliation and business address, describing the achievements for which the candidate is nominated for this award
  • A separate pdf file with a full CV of the nominee indicating the date of birth.

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics
Golden Book

List of the winners of the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics in reverse chronological order


Carlos A. Ríos-Ocampo, USA

“For pioneering the integration of phase change mate-rials with photonic integrated circuits for a wide range of applications”.


Chao Zuo, China

“For his work on the Development of Novel Computational Optical Imaging and Measurement Technologies”.


Giulia F. Mancini, Italy

“For contributions to imaging and scattering of nanostructured materials using high- harmonic soft X-ray sources and research on extreme ultraviolet imaging”.


Bhavin Shastri, Canada

“For his pioneering contributions to Neuromorphic Photonics”.


Chao-Yang Lu, China

“For significant contributions to optical quantum sciences”.


Can Bayram, USA

“For the first time, revolutionizing the way graphene has been employed in optics and photonics”.


Giulia Grancini, Switzerland

“For her deep knowledge on photophysical properties and ultrafast light-induced dynamical processes”.


Laura Na Liu, Germany

“For outstanding contributions to nano-optics, nanophotonics, nanoplasmonics, and metamaterials.”


Frank Koppens, Netherlands

“For his remarkable, outstanding, groundbreaking, pioneering and numerous contributions to Nano-Optoelectronics.”


Albert Schliesser, Denmark

“For his outstanding contributions to photonics and optomechanics, in particular by developing a micro-frequency comb and a radio-to-optical mechanical transducer.”


Andrea Alù, USA

“For ground breaking work in metamaterials and plasmonics, and for the introduction of the concept of scattering-cancellation-based metamaterial cloaking.”


Nirit Dudovich, Israel

“For developing a completely new approach to attosecond pulse metrology.”


Goëry Genty, Finland

“For his outstanding contributions in pulse propagation and ultra-fast dynamics in nonlinear optical fibers, particularly his groundbreaking results on supercontinuum generation and nonlinear instabilities.”


Shuang Zhang, United Kingdom

“For his outstanding contributions in metamaterials and plasmonics, particularly for the first demonstration of the double-fishnet structure and for excellent achievements in realization of the first three-dimensional optical negative-index metamaterials.”


Eleftherios Goulielmakis, Germany

“For his outstanding contributions in attosecond physics, particularly for the generation of attosecond pulses and their application for the direct measurement of light waves.”