Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Affiliated Member of

ICO Awards

ICO Newsletter

April 2017 Number 111


ICO working towards ICO-24

Yasuhiko Arakawa welcomes the optics and photonics community to ICO-24.


Since its inception in 1947, the ICO has served the international community of optics and photonics by fostering an exchange of information through scientific events, publications, topical schools, and technical committees with emphasis on the developing world. To further our contribution to the evolution of human society and culture, we believe that there is a need to scientifically expand optics and photonics by emphasizing the interaction with these disciplines. We are now in the process of applying to become a Scientific Union versus a Scientific Associate and for the International Council for Science (ICSU) to change in status, from that of Affiliated Commission of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) and Scientific Associate of ICSU to full Union status. I would like to solicit all of you to support our action.

One of the important documents attached to the application is the ICO Strategic Plan 2017–2023 for supporting ICO to become a scientific union. The purpose of strategic planning is to set overall goals for a business, organization, or institution and to develop a plan to achieve them. The ICO Strategic Plan presented in draft form, is intended to serve that purpose and to provide a roadmap for strengthening ICO’s international organization competencies in the development and expansion of optics and photonics. Particular emphasis is placed on special programs for young scientists; entrepreneurship; sponsorship of local, regional and international activities; and in general to offer services to the world’s optics and photonics community as a non-profit organization with particular focus on the underdeveloped regions of the world. The ICO Strategic Plan is now posted on the website and your comments on the Strategic Plan are highly welcome. The Strategic Plan will be finally approved at the ICO General Assembly of the ICO-24 Triennial Congress.

As both the ICO President and the General Chair of ICO-24, it is my pleasure to welcome all of you to ICO-24. The ICO General Congress has been one of the most historic and authoritative conferences in the field of optics and photonics since the first congress was held in the Netherlands in 1948. Following ICO-13 in Sapporo in 1984, in 2017 Japan will once again host ICO-24 – which is to be held at the Keio Plaza Hotel, Shinjuku, Tokyo, from 21–25 August 2017. With attendees and delegates from all over the world, ICO-24 will include a wide range of topics on optics and photonics, providing a platform for mutual communication between researchers of different fields linked with the main common theme of “Light for Society”.

Since the discovery of the laser, the field of optical science has expanded to incorporate quantum and nonlinear optics, photonics, nano-optics, semiconductor optical materials science, complex dynamics, and quantum computing etc., and has grown to have technological applications in communications, health, materials processing, renewable energy generation, and energy saving. Optical imaging science also plays an important role in monitoring disaster risks and ecosystem changes due to global warming.

ICO-24 will consist of plenary sessions, oral sessions, poster sessions, and various social events. The plenary session will feature speakers who will share their viewpoints on very relevant topics of present interest and also their visions and perspectives on future trends. A current list of the inspiring plenary speakers includes Prof. Hiroshi Amano (2014 Nobel Laureate, Nagoya University), Prof. Hiroshi Kajita (2015 Nobel Laureate, The University of Tokyo), Prof. Christopher Dainty (Imperial College London), and Prof. James Fujimoto (Massachusetts Institute of Technology).

We are looking forward to seeing you at ICO-24 in Tokyo during the summer of 2017.

Yasuhiko Arakawa, ICO President, 2014–2017

 Next articles

International Commission for Optics

Bureau members (2014-2017):

President: Y. Arakawa;

Past-President: D. T. MooreTreasurer: J A Harrington;

Secretary: A M Guzmán. e-mail:,

Associate Secretary: G von Bally

Vice-Presidents, elected: J. Harvey, F. Höller, H. Michinel, J. Niemela, R. Ramponi, S-H Park, J. Zakrzewski, M. Zghal

Vice-Presidents, appointed: K. D. Choquette, J. C. Howell, S. Morgan, E. Rosas, P. Urbach, A Wagué, M. J. Yzuel

IUPAP Council Representative: C Cisneros

Editor in chief: A M Guzmán

Editorial committee:
K Baldwin, Australian National University, Australia;
J Dudley, Université de Franche-Comté, France;
William T Rhodes, Florida Atlantic University, USA.