Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Scientific Associate of

ICO Awards

ICO 2016 Galileo Galilei Award

January 2017 Number 110

 Previous Articles

ICO 2016 Galileo Galilei Award

Guillermo Kaufmann, Argentina


Guillermo H Kaufmann, Professor of Physics with the Universidad Nacional de Rosario in Buenos Aires, Argentina, is the recipient of the ICO Galileo Galilei award for 2016. Kaufmann, also Chief Scientist of the Argentinean National Council for Scientific and Technical Research and Head of the Optical Metrology Laboratory at the Instituto de Física Rosario, received his DSc degree in physics in 1978 from the University of Buenos Aires. During the last eight years he has served as the director of the French Argentine International Centre of Information and Systems Sciences. He receives the ICO Gali- leo Galilei award “for the development of novel speckle interferometry techniques and their application in experimental mechanics, materials technology and nondestructive testing”.

Kaufmann was a post-doc at the National Physical Laboratory, UK, in 1978 and at the University of Michigan, USA, in 1984. He was a visiting researcher at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology at Lausanne in 1989 and at the University of Cambridge in 1990. Since 1992, he has had several research stays at Loughborough University, UK, at the Centro de Investigaciones en Optica, México. In 1993, he obtained a research award from the government of Japan to visit the Mechanical Engineering Laboratory in Tsukuba.

Prof. Kaufmann has edited two books, and authored more than 170 scientific papers and three book chapters. His major research interests include the development of coherent optics techniques for strain analysis and nondestructive testing, speckle metrology, phase shifting interferometry, fringe analysis and digital image processing. He was the coordinator of the Optics Division of the Asociación Física Argentina and the Argentine representative to the International Commission for Optics. He is a member of the Editorial Board of Optics and Lasers in Engineering, a former member of the Editorial Board of Optics & Photonics News, and a topical editor of Applied Optics. He is a fellow of SPIE and of the OSA. In 2003, the Secretary of Science and Technology of Argentina awarded him the Bernardo Houssay Prize for his contri- butions in the field of optical engineering. He is the recipient of the 2015 Chandra S Vikram Award for Optical Metrology awarded by SPIE.

 Next articles