Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Affiliated Member of

ICO Awards

A meeting highlighting optics in Mexico

October 2015 Number 105

 Previous articles

A meeting highlighting optics in Mexico

The Academia Mexicana de Óptica and the Centro Investigaciones en Optica hosts MOPM 2015.

 Group photo of meeting attendees. In the front row, left to right and beginning with the second person on the left, are: Eric Masur, Amalia Martinez, Nobel Laureate William Moerner, ICO Board member Eric Rosas, ICO President Yasuhiko Arakawa, and Toyohiko Yatagai, SPIE President. At the far right of the front row is Zeev Zalevsky, 2008 ICO prize-winner[1] [2]

Most meetings endorsed by the ICO are strongly international in character, although because of their locations they may be dominated by attendees from, e.g., Europe, Asia, or the United States. Attendees to the recent Mexican Optics and Photonics Meeting, held 9–11 September 2015 in Leon, Mexico, not only had the opportunity to attend seven plenary talks by outstanding scientists from all over the world, including the first by Nobel Laureate William Moerner, but to learn how strong optics programmes are in Mexico.

Mexico hosts three major centres of optics and photonics research – CIO, the Center for Investigations in Optics, in Leon; INAOE, the National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics, and Electronics, in Puebla; and CICESE, the Center for Scientific Research and Higher Education, in Ensenada – plus numerous universities and research institutes with smaller-scale activities in these areas. All were well represented at the meeting.

The meeting venue was CIO, which combines the feel of a compact modern university campus with the atmosphere of a retreat. The facilities were excellent with no real distractions other than the seductive sunshine and pleasant breezes outside. Conference leadership, provided by Oracio Barbosa-Garcia, Amalia Martinez-Garcia, and ICO Bureau member Eric Rosas was outstanding.

ICO President Yasuhiko Arakawa, from the University of Tokyo, gave a plenary talk keyed to the International Year of Light in which he emphasized how light-based technologies contribute to sustainable development and provide solutions to global challenges in energy, education, agriculture, information technologies, and health – in direct agreement with IYL 2015 objectives.

In addition to the seven plenary talks, there were 16 invited talks, all in non-parallel sessions. The scientific content of the meeting included 60 poster presentations. Total attendance reached an impressive 347. One notable event during the meeting was the awarding to Chandra Shakher of the 2014 ICO Galileo Galilei Prize (see the October 2014 issue of this newsletter).

 Mexican Academy of Optics President Amalia Martinez with Nobel Laureate William Moerner.

Consider now stereoscopic vision, which guides us to a major principle of 3D metrology: triangulation. The underlying notion is well known: our eyes see an object from different perspectives. As illustrated in figure 3, the two eyes and a given point on the object span a triangle with triangulation angle θ. On the basis of the positions of the images on the two retinas, the brain calculates the local distance of each point and, eventually, the shape of the surface in space. Triangulation has been used in the measurement of distances for thousands of years; the majority of contemporary optical 3D sensors exploit triangulation

 ICO President Yasuhiko Arakawa presents the ICO Galileo Galilei Award to Prof. Chandra Shakker, from India. [4]-[5][6]

As figure 4 shows, 3D imaging has a close relationship with 3D display. As early as 1922, 3D motion pictures were produced for showing in movie theaters. Each eye of the viewer sees its own image from a slightly different perspective, separated by colour or polarization encoding. There was no great demand for stereo movies until they were recently reintroduced – with considerably greater quality – by Hollywood and by the computer-gaming industry. Today, a variety of consumer cameras can capture stereo image pairs.


 Next articles

International Commission for Optics

Bureau members (2011-2014):

President: Y. Arakawa;

Past-President: D. T. MooreTreasurer: J A Harrington;

Secretary: A M Guzmán, CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, University of Central Florida, PO Box 162700, 4000 Central Florida Blvd,Orlando, FL 32816-2700, USA; e-mail

Associate Secretary: G von Bally

Vice-Presidents, elected: J. Harvey, F. Höller, H. Michinel, J. Niemela, R. Ramponi, S-H Park, J. Zakrzewski, M. Zghal

Vice-Presidents, appointed: Y. J. Ding, J. C. Howell, S. Morgan, E. Rosas, P. Urbach, A Wagué, M. J. Yzuel

IUPAP Council Representative: C Cisneros

Editor in chief: A M Guzmán

Editorial committee:
K Baldwin, Australian National University, Australia;
J Dudley, Université de Franche-Comté, France;
William T Rhodes, Florida Atlantic University, USA.