Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Affiliated Member of

ICO Awards

IOP co-sponsors ICO travelling lecture programme

July 2015 Number 104

 Previous articles

IOP co-sponsors ICO travelling lecture programme


The Institute of Physics (IOP) is joining the International Commission for Optics (ICO) in sponsoring the ICO travelling lecturer programme that enables scientists of international reputation to lecture on modern aspects of optics and photonics. The programme is particularly aimed at developing countries, but is not restricted to them and it is hoped that the visits will lead to closer collaboration between the visiting lecturers and the host countries. The ICO has been running the programme since 1988 and this year, for the first time, the IOP is co-sponsoring a lecture series by a UK physicist, Prof. Colin Sheppard. He is a senior scientist at the Italian Institute of Technology, and has been invited to give a series of lectures on 3–7 August at the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina, to mark the International Year of Light. photo

Prof. Sheppard’s research interests include confocal and multiphoton microscopy, phase imaging, image reconstruction, diffraction, scattering, and beam and pulse propagation. The IOP is matching the $1000 funding provided by the ICO to support the lecture series this year, and will continue doing so when the travelling lecturer award is related to a UK/ Irish scientist, a member of the IOP or a country with which the IOP would like to further its relationship.



International Commission for Optics

Bureau members (2011-2014):

President: Y. Arakawa;

Past-President: D. T. MooreTreasurer: J A Harrington;

Secretary: A M Guzmán, CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, University of Central Florida, PO Box 162700, 4000 Central Florida Blvd,Orlando, FL 32816-2700, USA; e-mail

Associate Secretary: G von Bally

Vice-Presidents, elected: J. Harvey, F. Höller, H. Michinel, J. Niemela, R. Ramponi, S-H Park, J. Zakrzewski, M. Zghal

Vice-Presidents, appointed: Y. J. Ding, J. C. Howell, S. Morgan, E. Rosas, P. Urbach, A Wagué, M. J. Yzuel

IUPAP Council Representative: C Cisneros

Editor in chief: A M Guzmán

Editorial committee:
K Baldwin, Australian National University, Australia;
J Dudley, Université de Franche-Comté, France;
William T Rhodes, Florida Atlantic University, USA.