Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Affiliated Member of

ICO Awards

María L. Calvo

Prof. María L. Calvo  

Universidad Complutense de Madrid,  Spain


Prof. Maria L. Calvo graduated in Physics in 1969 at the Complutense University of Madrid (UCM, Spain). After graduation she first visited Phillips (Eindhoven, Holland) and started working in quality control on glass fabrication (surface quality and stress analysis). Later, she became a fellow of the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) in Paris. At the Institute of Optics she continued to work on optical properties of glasses and amorphous materials under the direction of Prof. Lucien Prod'homme and Prof. Aniuta Winter-Klein (glass microhardness and experimental Rayleigh light scattering) and obtained a Doctorate Diploma from the University of Paris VI (France, 1971). In 1972 she contacted Prof. Armando Durán, (known for his pioneering work on night myopia along with J. M. Otero) and who was currently a professor of Optics at UCM. She joined the Optics Department of UCM as an assistant professor and started theoretical studies on light scattering defects in isotropic media. She presented a Ph.D. dissertation (with honors) on this subject in June 1977. In 1981 she became an associate professor and in 1999 obtained the Chair of Optics at the same department. She was Head of the Department of Optics during the period (2006-2010).

Prof. Calvo was President of the Image Technical Committee of the Spanish Optical Society (SEDOPTICA) (1992-1997). She was a Traveling Lecturer of the International Commission for Optics (ICO) in 1998 and SPIE Traveling Lecturer in 2009 and 2011. She was elected Vice-president at the ICO Bureau (1999-2002 term) and elected Secretary-General of ICO (term 2002-2005) and term 2005-2008. She also collaborates with the General Directorate for Research and Technology of the European Union in Brussels and with the International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP. Trieste, Italy). In Spain, she collaborates with the Ministry of Science and Innovation on research projects panels. She is an elected Fellow of OSA, an elected Fellow of SPIE, member of EOS. In July 2008 she was elected President of the International Commission for Optics (ICO) for the term 2008-2011. She is currently ICO Past-President (term 2011-2014). In September 2011 she received the title of Honorary Doctor from the Russian-Armenian University (RAU) after the Chancellor Armen Darbinian.