Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Affiliated Member of

ICO Awards

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics

The winners of the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics

2009: Eleftherios Goulielmakis, Germany

First recipient of the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics.


Goulielmakis studied physics at the University of Crete, in Greece. He received his PhD from Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany, in 2005. At present he is a scientist in the Max Planck Institute's Division of Attosecond Physics. He was awarded for his "outstanding contributions in attosecond physics, particularly for the generation of attosecond pulses and their application for the direct measurement of light waves."

2010 Shuang Zhang, United Kingdom


Shuang Zhang was born in China. He obtained his PhD in Electrical Engineering from the University of New Mexico, USA, in 2005. He joined in 2010 the School of Physics and Astronomy of the University of Birmingham, United Kingdom. He was awarded "for his outstanding contributions in metamaterials and plasmonics, particularly for the first demonstration of the double-fishnet structure and for excellent achievements in realization of the first three-dimensional optical negative-index metamaterials."

2011 Goëry Genty, Finland


Goëry Genty was born in Bordeaux, France. He received his PhD degree from the Helsinki University of Technology, Finland, in 2004. He joined the Tampere University of Technology, Finland, in 2008. Dr. Genty was awarded "for his outstanding contributions in pulse propagation and ultra-fast dynamics in nonlinear optical fibers, particularly his groundbreaking results on supercontinuum generation and nonlinear instabilities." 

2012 Nirit Dudovich, Israel


Nirit Dudovich has a PhD in physics from the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel. She performed her post-doctoral research at the National Research Council (NRC) in Canada. In 2007 Dr Dudovich joined the physics faculty at the Weizmann Institute of Science as a senior scientist, where she leads the attosecond science group. She was awarded for her outstanding achievements on “Developing a completely new approach to attosecond pulse metrology.”

2013 Andrea Alù, USA


Andrea Alù is an Associate Professor and the David & Doris Lybarger Endowed Faculty Fellow in Engineering, in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin in Austin, TX, USA. He has been awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics 2013 "for ground breaking work in metamaterials and plasmonics, and for the introduction of the concept of scattering-cancellation-based metamaterial cloaking."

2014 Albert Schliesser, Denmark


Albert Schliesser is a Research Assistant Professor at the QUANTOP Center of the Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen University, Denmark. He has been awarded the 2014 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics “for his outstanding contributions to photonics and optomechanics, in particular by developing a micro-frequency comb and a radio-to-optical mechanical transducer."

2015 Frank Koppens, Netherlands


Dr Frank Koppens from ICFO – The Institute of Photonic Sciences in Castelldefels (Barcelona), Spain – was awarded the 2015 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics for “his remarkable, outstanding, groundbreaking, pioneering and numerous contributions to Nano-Optoelectronics.”

2016 Laura Na Liu, Germany

Laura Na Liu, Professor at the Kirchhoff Institute of Physics, University of Heidelberg, and Group Leader at the Max-Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Germany, is the recipient of the 2016 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics for “outstanding contributions to nano-optics, nanophotonics, nanoplasmonics, and metamaterials.”

2017 Giulia Grancini, Switzerland

Giulia Grancini was awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics 2017 for her “deep knowledge on photophysical properties and ultrafast light-induced dynamical processes”.

2018 Can  Bayram, USA

Prof. Can Bayram demonstrated direct epitaxy of GaN on Graphene  for  the  first  time,  revolutionizing the way graphene has been employed in optics and photonics”.

2019 Chao-Yang Lu, China

Dr. Chao-Yang Lu from Univ. of Science & Technology of China received the ICO-IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in optics 2019 “for significant contributions to optical quantum sciences”.

2020 Bhavin Shastri, Canada

Dr. Bhavin J. Shastri from Queen's University in Canada received the ICO-IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in optics 2020 “for his pioneering contributions to Neuromorphic Photonics”.