Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Affiliated Member of

ICO Awards

Golden Book


The ICO Awards

ICO Prize

The ICO Prize was established in 1982 and is presented annually to a person who has made a noteworthy contribution to Optics before reaching the age of 40. Every year, the ICO Prize Committee issues a call for nominations that is published in the ICO Newsletter. 


ICO/IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics

In 2005 IUPAP created the Young Scientist Prizes for its Commissions. The International Commission of Optics (ICO), as an Affiliated Commission of IUPAP, decided in 2008 to adopt the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics. The prize is awarded annually through ICO to a scientist who has made noteworthy contributions to applied optics and photonics during a maximum of 8 years of research experience after having earned a PhD degree. The recipients are listed below.


ICO Galileo Galilei Medal

The ICO Galileo Galilei Medal was established in 1994 and is presented annually to a person who has made outstanding contributions to the field of Optics in countries where the development of Optical Technology is significantly below average, or where difficult economic or social conditions are encountered, and access to scientific and technical facilities or sources of information is lacking. The recipients are listed below.


ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award

ICO, the International Commission for Optics, and ICTP, the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, agreed to establish since 2000 a joint prize, called the ICO/ICTP Award. In September 2007, the ICTP and ICO agreed to rename the ICO/ICTP Award as ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award to honor the memory and legacy of the late Prof. Gallieno Denardo, who was in charge of optics activities at the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) for more than 20 years. A special issue of the ICO Newsletter (ICO Newsletter October 2007, No. 73) was devoted to his memory. The award is given to scientists less than 40 years of age, who are active in research in Optics and have contributed to the promotion of research activities in Optics in their own or another developing country.


The ICO Award Winners